Accidental Tomatoes

Weeks ago, I was weeding around my baby hydrangeas, just beside my front porch, and noticed a curious-looking plant. It looked like a tomato plant. But, it was growing from under my porch. And I certainly hadn’t planted one there. So, I put it out of my head. Until today.

The dear husband and I were discussing the need to work in the yard. We’ve had rain just about every day and the grass is looking a little like a fledgling jungle. It was then that he mentioned that we need a stake. For our tomato plant. In front of our house. Suddenly I remembered the odd plant. He assured me it really was a tomato plant – complete with little green tomatoes. When I went out to inspect, I discovered that we did indeed have a tomato plant that had taken root under our front porch and it was huge!

As I pulled weeds from around it and my hydrangeas I couldn’t help chuckling about our accidental fruit. Where did it come from? Truthfully, with Bruno (our dog) around, it could have come from anywhere. My best guess is that he found a tomato-treasure and hid it and forgot about it. It was then left to grow. I couldn’t help to think about the other types of accidental fruit we might grow.

In The book of John, Jesus says, “I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.” (John 15:5). In Galatians, Paul tells us, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control.” So, we are branches who produce fruit, but only when “attached” to Jesus.  In His parables, Jesus talks about seed. It is an analogy for Truth, the Word of God, a knowledge of God.

The thing about my tomato plant is that, at some point, someone threw a tomato seed in that spot. Or maybe a whole tomato. Either way, the seed fell on fertile ground and grew. If you a follower of Christ, you should be producing fruit. And leaving that fruit in places where there is none. Anytime we offer a kindness or act out of love or respond gently or give away any of the fruit of the spirit, we are giving the receiver a piece of Truth, a taste of Jesus. If the soil is fertile, I believe God uses that fruit to plant a seed. And in time, it will grow.

In 1 Corinthians 3, Paul tells us that some plant the seed and others water the seed, but that it is God Who causes the growth. Just like my stray tomato plant, you may run across someone who has had the seed planted and has started to grow. You may be the person responsible for tending the plant while it grows. Baby Christians tend to need more time, attention and pointing to Jesus than do mature believers. It can be hard work pulling the weeds of the devil’s lies and keeping the plant watered. But, in the end, it will be worth it! And that person can share the fruit they’ve grown!Has God sent you a tomato plant? Nourish it, water it and keep the weeds out. He’s growing something beautiful!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Accidental Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

