Out Of Gas

As I write, I’m sitting in my car on the side of the road. Broken down? Thank God, no. But the real answer is much more embarrassing. I ran out of gas.

My dislike for stopping at the gas station is legendary. I can’t even explain it. Sometimes I don’t notice how much gas I have until the light comes on. Most of the time I’m pretty good about stopping soon after I see the light. Unless. Unless I’m in a hurry. Or if I’m at home (I live in the boonies – there are no gas stations close by.) or any of the other excuses I can use to avoid stopping. This morning I was running a few minutes late to work and thought I could make it. Clearly, I could not.

So, as I sit here, God spoke to my stubborn heart. My car isn’t the only thing “out of gas.” I am out of gas. 

Life has been especially hectic this summer. Every spare minute has been taken by someone or something that desperately needs my attention. I feel pulled in far too many directions. 

I know I’m not the only one who gets in this spot. Our lives are so full – too full sometimes. Good things that God has put before us can still be very tiring. Spouses. Children. Friends. Jobs. Church. Extracurricular activities. School. And the list goes on. But, just like my car doesn’t run without gas, I don’t run without rest. And I don’t mean “lay in the bed and do nothing” rest, necessarily.

So what kind of rest am I talking about? Read these scriptures…

In Matthew 11:28, Jesus said, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” Isaiah 40:11 says, “but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 26:3 says, “You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you.”

Hmmm. “Come to me,” “hope in the Lord,” “trust in you.” Oh. Jesus is the answer. I think Andrae Crouch told us that years ago.

“But I don’t have time!” you might be thinking. Well, I didn’t have time to stop and get gas. And now I’m going to be really late for work. If we don’t make time for the rest we need, our results can be just as bad.

The funny thing (maybe not haha funny) is that I heard Johnny Diaz’s song “Breathe” at least four times yesterday. I knew God was speaking to me. But I stubbornly continued on my own path. 

God got my attention this morning! As I sit here, He is gently pointing out that, often, the way I “rest” with Him is in my writing. And I’ve been too busy. I’m thankful He loves me enough to keep teaching the lesson until I get it.

So what about you? Are you busy? Stressed? Stretched thin? Are you running out of gas? Jesus says to come to Him. And I’m not sure it was just a suggestion. “In Him, we live and move and have our being.” Acts 17:28. To try to live without him is like me trying to drive without gas. It simply doesn’t work.

Oh. And in case you were wondering, my sweet best friend is on her way to rescue me, since Keith was already at work. And probably on time. Because he doesn’t run out of gas. =)

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

