I’m So Embarrassed!

If you read my blog yesterday, then you know I ran out of gas. Those who know me well know that I get embarrassed very easily. I do not like being under close scrutiny, whether it be good or bad, but especially when it’s bad. As a result, I often try to do things perfectly, to avoid the embarrassment of my mistakes being pointed out.

Running out of gas was horribly embarrassing for me. Rather than embracing the potential pitfalls of my personality (like running out of gas), I beat myself up for making mistakes. Yes, I know, we should accept and celebrate who we are – the good and the bad. And I fully support that in others, but I struggle with it myself.

In the grand scheme of things, running out of gas isn’t a huge deal. I’m not even sure it’s worthy of gossip – which means it shouldn’t be worthy of embarrassment or shame. Yet, I felt those things. Of course, we know who wants us to feel that way. The devil. Satan. The enemy of our souls. He is a liar and the father of lies. 

One of satan’s favorite lies is to tell us we should be ashamed of our mistakes. And if he likes to tell us that over running out of gas, how much more so does he enjoy whispering shame to our hearts over larger mistakes? 

We all have them. Those skeletons that rattle in the closets of our past. Everybody’s skeleton looks different, but that doesn’t make it special. Sin is sin and it’s ugly. It separates us from God. And it can cause a tremendous amount of shame.

But God.

God so loved the world. John 3:16.

He sent His son to die. For you. For your sin. Not just one of them. Not just the nicer ones. All sin. Anything you could ever do. Ever. He can forgive it. All you have to do is ask. Jesus’ blood covers it all.

Does this keep the devil from bringing up your past? Oh no! He’s persistent. But not terribly original. He lies. Maybe he tells you that you should be embarrassed and feel shame over past mistakes. Maybe he tells you that your sin was too heinous to forgive. Maybe he tells you that everyone remembers and is judging you. Or maybe it’s another lie that I can’t fathom. Whatever he tells you, my answer is the same.

Read carefully. I don’t want you to miss this.

Nothing is too big, too ugly, too heinous, too anything for God. He is bigger than any sin you can ever commit. If you’ve asked forgiveness, it has been granted. As far as the east is from the west is how far God casts your sin. Into the sea of forgetfulness. That’s pretty impressive.

There’s something else I need you to know.

He loves you. So very much. More than you can think or dream or imagine. More than you have the capacity to understand. And He’s not disappointed in you. Not even a little. 

So. Is the devil trying to remind you of a past you’d like to forget? Tell him to get lost and remind him who he’s dealing with! We are children of the Most High God – justified, redeemed and free! 

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

