Speeding Ticket

Feel free to congratulate me! This morning, after many years of not achieving it, I received a high speed award, from none other than NC State Trooper, TC Hayes! Or, in other words, I got a speeding ticket.
Oops.
Y’all I can’t even lie – I was talking on the phone to my mama and zipping down the road and not paying the least bit of attention to my speed. Until I saw the state trooper headed in the opposite direction. He made quick work of turning around to pursue me! But, I took all the fun out of it. I slowed waaaay down and pulled over. And waited.

When he walked up to the car, I was ready! I said “good morning.”

The whole exchange was rather pleasant and very quick. I left with my new certificate and he turned around and headed back to town. (Cause, you know, I live in the sticks.)

Because I have a tendency to tattle on myself, most everyone knew. And I was offered many condolences. (No congratulations though!) I appreciated the sentiments, but the truth is – I ain’t mad. Why? Because, I deserved that ticket.

Now, I could’ve gotten mad. Or tried the whole “it wasn’t me” routine. Or I could’ve cried. Or I could’ve tried to talk my way out of it. But, I didn’t. Because I was at fault. I was definitely speeding. And it is definitely against the law.

And, I could’ve let it ruin my day. But, I didn’t. I decided to laugh about it and move on with life.

Y’all ready to catch the parallel I’m getting ready to throw ya?

Hebrews 12:5-6 says, “My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline, and do not lose heart when he rebukes you,because the Lord disciplines the one he loves, and he chastens everyone he accepts as his son.”

Did you catch that? God disciplines His children. That ticket I got today was a good discipline. I can almost guarantee I’ll slow down now. God’s discipline is even better. It comes out of His great love for us and serves only to keep us on the path that will bring us peace and joy.

Sometimes, we’re lucky and God disciplines us Himself and no one has to know. Other times, though, He sends someone else to do the dirty work. Maybe it’s the preacher in his sermon, maybe it’s a trusted friend, maybe it’s someone you don’t even like. But, the result is the same. It’s tough to take. But it’s for our own good.

So. Are is God giving you a speeding ticket? If so, thank Him for it. It’s just a little more proof that He loves you. 

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

