Share Your Story

You may or may not know that I started a new job last month. (Happy one month to me!) My retail days are behind me, at least for awhile. I’m now a lunch lady! I work at the local (only) high school. And. Well. I love it. I really do! Who knew? (Besides God, of course.)

In the cafeteria, most of us switch around from job to job. This week it was my turn to work in the dishroom. (Let us pray. Dear Lord, thank you for commercial dishwashers. Amen.). Yesterday, as I was hanging out with the dirty dishes, one of the other lunch ladies and I had a minute to talk. Somehow we ended up sharing important parts of our lives. Things that were so earth shattering, our testimonies would be incomplete without them. As we shared the memories of God’s goodness in our places of deepest pain, I could feel His presence. I knew we would both walk away from that conversation strengthened and encouraged. Later, as I thought about it, I was reminded of this verse, “And they overcame him because of the blood of the Lamb and because of the word of their testimony.” Rev 12:11, NASB.

The “him” in this verse is satan. You know, the devil doesn’t like us. I know, we talk about this a lot. But, it’s important so I’m going to keep reminding us! 1 Peter 5:8 says, “Be of sober spirit, be on the alert. Your adversary, the devil, prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.” (NASB). Seems a little scary, huh? But then Peter goes on to say, “But resist him, firm in your faith, knowing that the same experiences of suffering are being accomplished by your brethren who are in the world. After you have suffered for a little while, the God of all grace, who called you to His eternal glory in Christ, will Himself perfect, confirm, strengthen and establish you. To Him be dominion forever and ever. Amen.” (v. 9-11). So, again, we see that God will help us overcome. Also, we see that our brothers and sisters are suffering the same things. By sharing our stories, we encourage each other and help each other stand firm.

One of the songs out right now that I really like is, My Story by Big Daddy Weave. In it, he says, “to tell you my story is to tell of Him.” 

So. Do you have a story? Are you telling it? I hope so! You never know who might need to hear it!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

