Love Trumps Hate

I can be real here, can’t I?

I love my new job as a lunch lady. The women I work with are fantastic and I look forward to going in everyday. The kids are largely kind and polite. And the hours I work make me swoon when I compare them to what I worked at Food Lion.

But. There’s one little thing I don’t like. Literally.Little. It’s the bathroom. And it’s tiny! The toilet is in a stall roughly large enough for a small child. The room also contains our lockers and first aid kit and I don’t know what else all squeezed into the space of a small closet. There’s nothing more fun than trying to relieve yourself with four other ladies crammed in like sardines just on the other side of a metal half-wall! So, there are times we will slip away to another bathroom for a little privacy. “A purposeful walk.”

I don’t know why that got my brain going in this direction. Probably only God can explain this brain He created! But it did.

So, think about different walks you may take. Sometimes, it’s a purposeful walk to a bathroom. (And anyone who hangs out with me can tell you that can be very purposeful!) Or to a sale item on Black Friday. Or to a friend’s house. Well, I think you get the point. Those walks have a pre-determined end in mind and are done when that end is achieved.

Other times, we walk just to be walking. One of my favorite things to do is go on a walk with a friend and talk. My short little legs can travel some distance if my mouth is running! Those walks aren’t necessarily purposeful, but are much needed.

But this post isn’t really about walks. It’s about my favorite subject – love. When I was thinking about purposeful walks, my brain went to purposeful love.

God tells us to love our neighbor. There seems to be no condition or caveat or time limit. Simply love. Yet, my experience has been that many folks love for a purpose. I don’t think they mean to, it just happens. I’ve found that, all too often, the love is withdrawn when they see that it’s not producing the results they wanted. That, my friends, is conditional love and not at all what Jesus was talking about.

Right now, our country needs love more than ever. My Facebook feed is filled with hatred and fear and disgust. I’ve seen both sides of our political landscape spewing things that are as far from love as possible. 

What are we doing? We have to stop this! 

You hate the way the election went? Do something productive. Go out and serve those you feel were marginalized by the vote. But a lunch or a coffee or a family’s Christmas. Get involved with local politics. Or find an organization that represents those you’re concerned for and ask how you can help.

Pleased with how the election turned out? Do the same things. 

We’re all Americans. This is supposed to be the great melting pot. Get out there and melt! Love those around you. Be kind to strangers. Smile. Put your hand to something that matters. Love. It’s not hard. And it’s the only force that will ever change anything.

So. Whoever is reading this, I don’t care if you’re black, white, yellow, purple, green, orange, striped, polka dotted, Christian, democrat, republican, liberal, conservative, straight, gay or any of the other ways we silly humans manage to sort ourselves…I love you. 

Will you join me in showing some love today? It’s time to heal our nation. Trump can’t do it. Hillary can’t do it. The media can’t do it. But we can do it. Because love really does trump hate.

I love you.

Be blessed today. Now, go show some unconditional love!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love Trumps Hate

Leave a Reply

