When Darkness Falls

Something folks may not know about me is that I’m afraid of the dark. It’s not really a big secret, but I don’t typically tell everyone I meet either! I do think it becomes apparent when I walk through the dark flipping on lights!

I’ve been afraid of the dark for as long as I can remember, so I’m not exactly sure why I have that fear. My equilibrium is a bit wonky and I have no balance in the dark, so that could be the culprit. Or maybe it’s my over-active imagination. The gift that fuels my writing also sees a boogeyman in every dark corner. 

Whatever the cause, the result is the same. I don’t like the dark. Thankfully, the solution is simple. Light. I mean, we have electricity. And you can buy a small, powerful flashlight at the Walmart for a dollar! Light reveals that the corners are empty and the fear goes away.

Y’all see where I’m going with this, don’t you?

Life has been a little scary for most everyone I know. We just had our presidential election last week and this has felt like a pivotal choice, no matter which side you’re on. I think fear has driven this election more than any other year I can remember. One day, as fear for my my children’s futures was gripping my heart, God reminded me that He was still in control. That I was so focused on what could go wrong that I had shifted my gaze from Him. That the darkness was making me fearful.

Oh. Okay.

The dark is scary, y’all. Things go bump in the night and there’s no telling what kind of evil could be lurking in the shadows. But, God is light! It says in 1 John 1:5, “This is the message we have heard from Him and announce to you, that God is Light, and in Him there is no darkness at all.” Psalm 27:1 says, “The Lord is my light and my salvation—whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life—of whom shall I be afraid?” The Bible also says that God is love (1 John 4:8) and that perfect love drives out fear (1 John 4:18). We know that there is no need for a sun in Heaven, because God’s glory is so radiant. When Moses came down from Mt. Sinai, his face was glowing from spending time with God – so much so that the people were afraid to look at him and he wore a veil unless he was in the presence of the Lord. That’s a whole lot of light!

Why are we afraid? Because the enemy of our souls knows that if he can simply shift our focus from the Light to his darkness, fear will creep in. And fear will cause us to do some crazy things!

So. How about you? Has fear crept into your heart? I challenge you to open up those scary places  to God. Let His light illuminate your dark corners. The fear will flee with the darkness. What if you already know all this and haven’t been fearful? Well, then, I encourage you to find someone who is fearful and shine God’s light in their life by showing them some love.

And that’s what it’s really about, isn’t it? Love. Love God. Love people. 

Be blessed and tell someone you love them. (Or better yet – show them!)

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

