When You’re Bumped

I heard a quote recently that I really liked. I liked it so much, I put it as my Facebook status. James McDonald says, “When you bump a person they spill what they are full of.” 

It has been my experience that, when God is teaching us something, He’ll tell us first, then test us in it, in the same way Jesus taught the disciples about faith just before they were on a boat in the midst of a raging storm. I do believe God’s trying to see if I was listening because I’ve gotten bumped in the last 24 hours.

It started with a casual conversation about tattoos. I don’t have one (yet) but have many friends who do. A friend at work informed me that she thinks tattoos are trashy. And that we shouldn’t have them. But she’s not sure why – she was taught that way. Bump.

Later, I got my paycheck stub. My monthly paycheck stub. I opened it and my total pay was $1.72. For a month. One dollar and seventy two cents. Did I mention this was my monthly paycheck? And I’m full time? BUMP!

I wish I could say I handled these things with grace. That when I was bumped only good stuff spilled out. But. Well. Y’all know I’m pretty chronically human, right? Yeah, I held a most-of-the-day grudge against my friend and cried like a baby when I saw my paycheck.

I spent the whole afternoon and early evening trying to figure out how to get my insurance deductions to a manageable number so I would actually get a paycheck. By the end of the day, I had some ideas but no real solutions. I did, however, have some good time with God and He reminded me that He was still in control. So, at least I had a measure of peace. I declared it a day and got myself to bed before 9pm.

Fast forward to 2:30am. I got up for a bathroom break and our dog, Bruno, decided that he needed to go also. So, Keith, being the sweet husband he is, got up to walk Bruno out. A few minutes later, I started smelling skunk. Shortly after that, Keith walked in and informed me that Bruno had been trying to play with a skunk. The skunk wasn’t amused and sprayed Bruno right in the face!

Oh my. The smell. I have no words to properly describe the stench that filled my house and nostrils. Or the lurch my stomach made at that smell. Bumped again.

A quick search on Google yielded a recipe for skunk wash. As Keith and I were gathering our wits and supplies, we stopped and looked at each other. The absolute absurdity of the situation struck us and we started laughing. 

James McDonald’s quote is really just another way to say what Jesus told us in the gospels. He said, “out of the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaks.” 

Hmmm.

Here’s the entire paragraph where that statement is found:

“For a good tree bringeth not forth corrupt fruit; neither doth a corrupt tree bring forth good fruit. For every tree is known by his own fruit. For of thorns men do not gather figs, nor of a bramble bush gather they grapes. A good man out of the good treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is evil: for of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh.” Luke 6:43-45, KJV

See. Jesus said whatever is in you is what’s going to come out. As a preacher friend used to say, “What’s in the well comes up in the bucket.”

Honestly, I’m not terribly proud of what spilled out when I was initially bumped. Clearly, I had some pride and fear right at the surface, ready to bubble out. 

But, God.

He’s so good, isn’t He?!

God gathered my heart close to Himself and reminded me that I am His and He is in control. In Him, we live and move and have our being. Acts 17:28, NIV. Only with His help can I be the woman described in Proverbs 31. Ny favorite verse in that chapter says, “She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.” v. 25, NIV.

I want to confidently say that only good stuff will be spilled today if (when) I am bumped. That may not be true. But I hope I’m able to laugh.

So. How about you? What comes out when you’re bumped? If it’s something you don’t like, spend some time with Jesus. Let Him fill you with good stuff. And if you’re already filled with good stuff? Spill that around. I’m sure somebody in your life could use it!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When You’re Bumped

  1. Terry McRae says:

    I like to think we are bumped in postive things as well as the trying times. I have seen you light up at the mention of a beach vacation or when the kids do something cool. Great blog. Got me to thinking.

Leave a Reply

