Wherever You Go

If you read my blog Thursday, then you know about the mini saga of Bruno and the skunk. My curious, playful dog thought he had found a new playmate. The new friend wasn’t amused and sprayed Bruno. At 2:30am. Although we washed him as quickly as possible, he had touched enough stuff that my house reeks. And Thursday, I reeked. So much so that I earned myself the nickname polecat. 

The worse thing about smelling like a skunk, other than offending my co-workers’ sinuses, was that I couldn’t get away from it. I couldn’t escape the smell because the smell was me! 

It made me think of a favorite phrase of a former pastor. He would say, “Wherever you go, there you are.”

What he was referring to was the propensity of people to simply change locations when they weren’t happy. Offended? Leave the church. Mad? Quit your job. Unhappy? Get a divorce. But, changing locations won’t help if you take the problem with you. And often, we are our own worst enemy.

It brings us back to the scripture we used yesterday. In Luke 7:45, Jesus said, “A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.” NIV

The only way to change what’s on the inside is to put better stuff in. Romans 12:2 says, “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” We know that we become a new creation when we accept Christ. I believe Paul is telling us that we need to fight the battle in our head by spending time with Jesus everyday. How do we do that? Talk to Him. Have an ongoing conversation. Listen to a sermon. Read your Bible. Learn to see things from a godly worldview, rather than from a self-view. Only then will some situations become bearable.

There’s a song that was release by the Christian group FFH in 2000 that has often been a prayer of mine.  Here’s the chorus:
Lord move in a way that I’ve never seen before. ‘Cause there’s a mountain in the way and a lock on the door I’m drifting away, waves are crashing on the shore. So Lord move, or move me.

So. Are you somewhere you don’t want to be? Ask God to show you what He’s trying to change. Spend time in His presence. I believe He will answer and move or move you.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wherever You Go

  1. Paula says:

    Thank you again for your perfect timing of this message. So on point for me.

Leave a Reply

