Trust the Process

One of my favorite older movies is Doc Hollywood. It’s about a “city” doctor on his way to Hollywood to work as a plastic surgeon. He got stuck in the small town of Grady, SC when he was diverted from the interstate and plowed into a fence with his beloved vintage car. 

One of the scenes shows the local mechanic working on the car, with parts strewed everywhere. The young doctor walks in and freaks out. The mechanic tries to calm him and points out that this was no different from him walking in halfway through a surgery and freaking out when a person’s intestines are pulled out. Disgusting picture. But excellent point.

Sometimes, I feel like my life is that way. I do what I think is right and it seems to blow up right in my face. I have definitely had a couple weeks like that. Tiny pay checks, the skunk-smelling dog and a blown-out tire have all made me feel like my life parts are strewn all over the world and I’m standing before God freaking out, trying to figure out exactly where I went wrong.

Finally, yesterday, I threw my hands in the air and said, “Okay, Lord, I’ve done all I can do. It’s all You now!” I got His gentle voice with that message I’ve heard so many time. “Trust Me.” And with it came a measure of peace I haven’t experienced in days. 

So often, we have a prescribed journey for our lives. Or a checklist that must be completed before we feel like we’ve accomplished anything. But, I’ve learned that God rarely does things the way I think they should be done. But His way is always best. Sometimes though, it simply makes no sense this side of eternity. And those are the moments I think we have to breathe, surrender our plan and trust that, since God sees the whole picture, His plan is going to work best – even if it seems like chaos in the moment.

So. Are you feeling chaotic? Stressed? Freaking out? Can’t figure out who it’s all going together? Breathe. God’s got this.

Remember:

Trust in the LORD with all your heart And do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6

Because:

 For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways And My thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:9

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

