Tangible Love

I believe everyone has times when they wonder if they make a difference, if they matter to folks, if they are loved. We live in a crazy, busy, hectic world full of superficial relationships and untended friendships. We “like” pictures and posts on Facebook to let folks know that we’re acknowledging them. But, how often do we reach out and let people know, in a meaningful way, that they are important?

Ouch. I’m stepping on my own toes here! I am absolutely guilty of letting life get in the way of a personal connection – a lunch with a friend, a handwritten note, an email of encouragement…or whatever else the Lord may be prompting me to do if I would be still long enough to listen. I think the unintended consequence is that we can end up feeling alone. 

A few weeks ago, I was more than a little shocked when I opened my paycheck. I squinted really hard at the total, hoping and praying that, somehow, I had read it wrong. Nope. There it was. In black and white. $1.72.  I had no money in my account and was counting on my paycheck to pay a house payment and maybe buy a few Christmas gifts. I was absolutely sick with fear. And embarrassment. And yes, I felt alone.

But God.

God is good, y’all! All the time!

God made sure that I knew He hadn’t forgotten me. He sent love in tangible forms. A Coke from a friend. Some Christmas socks. Cash from someone who normally wouldn’t have it to give. Money from the best friend. Then, some cards in the mail. With checks! And, more than that, they had very special hand-written notes telling me how I had touched their lives.

Those notes completed undid me. I sat in the Walmart parking lot, sobbing. These sweet ladies had all seen my need and helped meet it. But, somehow they saw my heart’s need and met it also. My gratitude is deeper than what I’ll ever be able to express. In fact, I’ve been remiss in sending thank you cards because I simply haven’t known what to write. 

Friends, read this carefully. You matter. You have the opportunity every single day to make a difference. Money doesn’t have to be involved, but sometimes it surely will be. Be still. Listen to God’s promptings. Learn to hear His voice in the midst of the bedlam. What seems little to you may make a world of difference to the other person.

So. Just do it. Send the note. Give some money. Take the meal. Offer a hug. Pray the prayer. God uses people every single day. All He needs is a willing vessel. Will you be that vessel and be a part of what He’s doing? I surely want to be!

Be blessed and tell (show!) someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

