Yesterday, the best friend and I had an impromptu adventure day. We started out going to a new place for lunch. It turned out that this new place was an hour away in the middle of nowhere. 

As we were leaving, the gps directions were a bit vague, and I missed the first turn. The gps quickly recalculated and sent us down another road. A couple of miles down that road, we passed a sign that said, “pavement ends.” Amy and I looked at each other, shrugged, and kept going. 

When we made it to a paved road, we sighed with relief and kept rolling, carefully following the gps directions. Surely we were going to be on pavement for the rest of the trip!

Or maybe not. 

The next turn looked harmless enough. It was a fairly narrow road in the middle of farmland and pastures. Quite beautiful. Then, we saw it. Another yellow sign announcing the end of the pavement. 

This road was more bumpy, more narrow, more curvy. We were praying we didn’t come up on a vehicle coming the other way! 

As we were laughing about the fact that our lunch at a new place turned into an adventure, Amy pointed out that this trip was very much like life. Just because the road is bumpy and narrow doesn’t mean you’re on the wrong road.

Oh my! Yep. Truth.

So often, when we become Christians, we think our path is going to be smooth and easy. I’m not sure where we get that crazy idea, because in John 16:33, Jesus said, “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” In fact, Jesus’ life wasn’t easy. Neither were the apostles’ lives. So it’s unrealistic to think we’ll never have troubles.

What to do, then, when you hit a dirt road? Well, I think the physical is a great parallel to the spiritual. Keep your eyes on the road. Keep going. Follow the directions. Trust the voice guiding you. 

Life can take some crazy, hard, unexpected turns. But just because it’s not going the way you thought it would or should, doesn’t mean it’s not God’s plan for you! Look at Joseph. His story can be found in Genesis (chapters 37-46). The short Leigh version is that he was sold by his brothers, but God was in control the whole time. He ended up in the royal palace and had the plan to save the country when the famine hit. Joseph reunited with his brothers and assured them that what they had meant for evil God meant for good. (Definitely go read it for yourself!). The point is, God had the plan the whole time and Joseph was the on His path, even when he felt like he had been forgotten.

Just like us. Just because you find yourself in the middle of nowhere on a bumpy gravel road doesn’t mean You weren’t supposed to be there. God’s plan is always better than ours. Yes, even when it doesn’t make sense.

So, remember, if your road is bumpy and unfamiliar and not at all what you expected, Hod most likely is right in the midst of it! Trust Him. He won’t lead you astray!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Vim says:

    Thanks, love it.

Leave a Reply

