Tears

Pain etched on her face, the mom reached up to wipe her daughter’s tears. The unexpected death of a son and brother had left them reeling with grief. As I watched the tender scene, the love of the mom so evident, I thought of Jesus and His tenderness towards us.

Psalm 56:8 says, “You keep track of all my sorrows. You have collected all my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book.” (NLT) Although I feel certain the image isn’t correct, I can just see Jesus wiping our tears and bottling them. The scriptures promise that our tears will be wiped away and there will be no more crying in heaven. But, as we trudge through life here on earth, heaven can seem awfully far away. Our hearts long for the day when the pain and suffering is gone. However, when we look a little more closely, we see that help is promised for now too.

Psalm 34:18 says, “The LORD is close to the brokenhearted; he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.” (NLT) In Deuteronomy, we read “The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” (31:8 NIV) That promise is so important, it’s reiterated in Hebrews 13:5. In Matthew 28:20, Jesus tells His disciples, “lo, I am with you alway, [even] unto the end of the world.” (KJV).

Sometimes, though, in the midst of pain and suffering and turmoil, it’s easy to feel alone and abandoned. Jesus knew we would struggle with that. In John 14:16-17, He said, “And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever; Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.” Ah. There it is. The promise of the Holy Spirit dwelling within believers. God Himself bringing us everything we need, delivered from deep inside.

Life is hard. But God is good. Cling to Him, lean into His strength, rest in His peace. There is no more precious place to abide.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

PS Please pray for my sweet friend, who lost her oldest child yesterday, and for her family. 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

