Sized Wrong

Yesterday, as a friend’s two year old came running by, shorts almost to his ankles and sagging like a gangsta, she mentioned that her boy’s shorts were too big. She went on to say that they were sized 18-24 months. Now, it’s been a minute or two since I had a two year old, but this little guy looks like that should have been the exact size he would need. However, these shorts were mis-sized. They had been labeled wrong. We had a good laugh about it and went on with our conversation.

This morning, though, the laughter has turned to contemplation. How often in our lives do we try to “fit” the label someone else has given us? 

Sometimes it’s things like tall kids should play basketball, stocky kids should play football and a kid with long fingers should be a piano virtuoso. But if they don’t have those talents, their size and shape don’t matter. Likewise, if they do have those talents, size and shape don’t matter. (Anybody remember Muggsy Bogues?) What matters is who they truly are, not who they’re perceived to be.

Other times, though, the labels can be much more damaging. Bad, stupid, dumb, fat, skinny, ugly, too tall, too short….just not good enough. Those labels can be applied at any time and can last a lifetime. We all know people who have never achieved much, despite talent, simply because they had been labeled wrong.

If you’ve read the label someone has stuck on you and believed it, I have good news! You are NOT who they say you are! You are who God says you are. And His Word says some pretty amazing stuff about His children.

If you are a child of God, a born-again believer, a follower of Christ, then this is who you are: Holy, righteous, co-heir, salt, light, complete, alive, redeemed! Did that list excite you? It should. And it’s just a partial list, a sampling. The Bible says so much more! 

I know that some of you are doubting me. You’ve believed the labels given to you by others – parents, spouses, friends, teachers, pastors – that you’ve become it. It’s time you understand. They mis-sized you! Google “Who I Am in Christ” and read the list. Look up the scriptures. Meditate on them. And remember that God can’t lie. Let your identity in Christ be the person you become and leave those old labels behind. I promise, it will change your life. He will change your life! Then, go out and share who you really are with the world. We need more of that.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

