Refused Blessings

I’m back at Food Lion. For the summer, anyway. One of the regular customers is a man who buys food at a reduced price to feed the hungry. Apparently, he’s part of a Christian group that does the feeding. Which, to be honest, kind of shocked me. He isn’t very friendly.

A couple weeks ago, the man came in to buy groceries for himself. I got to the end of the order and he very gruffly shoved a pack of meat back at me and told me to take it off. I’m guessing I had a quizzical look on my face because he quickly explained that he was about a dollar short. 

Now, I’m not wealthy, my any stretch of imagination, but I had a dollar I could spare that day, so I dug in my pocket and told him I had him covered. He assured me that he would come back to pay me back. I told him not to worry about it – just pay it forward. 

I didn’t think anything more about the situation, until he came back in several days later and thrust a dollar bill at me. I thanked him, but told him it wasn’t necessary, that he was supposed to pay it forward, he proudly stated, “I pay all my debts!”

That’s nice.

Except.

Some debts can’t be paid back. 

I have debts I can’t repay. The folks along the way who have helped us financially, those who have watched kids or made food. And then there’s the friend who gave us a place to live.

It’s hard to accept a gift like that. It’s humbling to recognize that we’ve received such a treasure. And that there’s no way we can “balance the scales.” Some things just can’t be repaid.

Jesus paid a debt for us that can never be repaid. We have zero capacity to even come close to repaying what He did for us. Yet, He offers it freely to all those who will accept.

Friends, if we can’t accept a dollar or food or babysitting or a place to live with no ability to repay, then how can we accept the grace of forgiveness and eternal life? 

Are you in a place of need today? Is someone offering help you’re refusing because you know you can’t pay it back? If so, I would gently remind you to check your pride level. It’s so easy to rely on self, but it’s not what God calls us to. Open your hands, let go of the “should haves” and accept whatever gift God is offering you, through whichever vessel He chooses. I can almost guarantee it’ll be unexpected!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

